The End is Near! But in a good way…

24 Apr

Finally, after years (and a numerous deadlines past), I am within the foreseeable END to Project Yarrow, my first draft of my first project of the year of The Writing Resolution (TWR).  Even at the beginning of the year, it was hard to imagine getting to the spot I am now: page 300, more than 113K words, and a very important plot point/reveal!

Life. And Other Problems.

Of course, as soon as I saw the light at the end of the tunnel disaster struck in the form of strep throat (or lymph node infection, we’re not sure… I just care that its GONE).

A summary of life right (write?) now.

After the NaNoThon, I was jazzed – I was so close!

The next day? I woke up with a sore throat and the inability to swallow basic liquids like water, much less move. Don’t worry I still managed to turn my taxes in on time though.

Then, add to that, a great number of “other” life duties: visiting (out-of-town/state) parents, visiting friends, overtime work shifts (be nice to your waitress, btw, its good karma), helping friends in a tough spot, and other employment searching… Well, life is just crazy right now.The down side?  I’ve had to prioritize my life and, regrettably, the blog took the biggest blow time-wise.

Worthy to note: these duties and people for interrupting my writing time annoy the p*ss out of me. Okay, not entirely – I love my family and friends, I obviously need to work to pay the bills, and since my current pay-the-bills job is driving me batty, I need a different type of work (logically anyhow).  Still, my current recovering health prevents me from creating more writing time by shaving off hours of sleep while attending to these duties and I am left frustrated with lack of time to write.

Ah, what I could do with 2 or 3 more hours in the day…

Never fear though, as I race toward the finish line of both my first project and finishing my 60K Camp NaNoWriMo goal, I have plans for this blog come May.  As long as I make my Camp goal, TWR will be close to on target, not quite though, but I’ll have more time to catch up here.

In Summary?

The end may be near for Draft #1 of Project Yarrow, but a revamp is near for this blog!

Prepare for: writing schedules and time management, waitressing as writing fodder, the short story vs. the novel, theories on writing, when you realize your high school English teacher was actually right about some things even though you cringe to admit it, and other valuable topics.

 

Cheers to anyone else participating in Camp NaNoWriMo and may this last week of Camp serve you well!

Write on, my fellow logophiles! 

2 Responses to “The End is Near! But in a good way…”

  1. Life and Other Turbulence April 24, 2013 at 5:47 PM #

    I need to check out this Camp NaNa-NaNa-Naaaaaa. I don’t know HOW you’ve managed to keep to a target word count like you have (I’m so impressed!) when spinning so many plates at once. I’m in a similar scenario…so much to balance, that by the time I DO have a few hours to write late in the day, I’m too tired to do it. I fully understand now why so many serious writers find a secluded cabin with no connectivity to the outside world… to simply WRITE undisturbed (and without sleep deprivation). I’m off to scope out Camp NaNoWriMo now…even though I still want to call it Camp NaNa-NaNa-Naaaaaa 🙂 Look forward to reading your upcoming posts!

    • adriejf May 1, 2013 at 11:06 AM #

      Haha! I think they should consider renaming it that! The next Camp session is in August… And you get your own (virtual) writer’s cabin. 🙂

Join the Discussion!